• Eco construction
Natural stone is an eco-friendly material
It is durable, recyclable and clean, and its production and use consume very little energy.
Natural stone is ideally suited to a sustainable development approach, and to all HQE (High Quality Environmental Standard) construction projects. It is 100% natural and mineral-based. ROCAMAT limestone is almost pure calcium carbonate.
Stone is a natural material, and its uses are many and varied. It is the main component of our Earth's crust, which means that it is an unlimited resource.
We put in place a redevelopment plan for each of our quarry sites, during and after the quarrying process. We are supported in meeting our commitments by a financial guarantee system monitored by the Regional Directorate for Environment, Development and Housing (DREAL).
We are 100% French
Any quarry material not suitable for use as cut stone is instead used as aggregate or as a soil conditioner.
Mineral-based material requires the least amount of energy consumption for its production; no heating is required. Stone used for large construction projects is a low-energy alternative, with low levels of CO2 emissions compared to major works in concrete.
Our facilities safeguard jobs in rural areas. Our regional proximity means that we can limit transport between production facilities and sites, and our products, manufactured in France, offer a clear environmental advantage over materials imported on a large scale.
ROCAMAT stone: a product close to you
  
The graphs below indicate the extent to which use of local materials reduces energy consumption and CO2 emissions compared to imported materials. These graphs, created with the CTMNC (Technical Center for Natural Construction Material) tool, compare transportation of a metric ton of natural stone between Paris and Burgundy, Paris and Portugal, and Paris and China.
Like all mineral-based construction materials, stone is not an insulating material. Combined with an effective insulator, however, it is fully compatible with RT2012 (thermal regulation) criteria. Furthermore, the thermal inertia it provides offers considerable comfort during the summer months.
Natural stone does not emit toxic chemicals into the atmosphere during its production or use. Starting on 1 January 2012, all construction and decorating products are now required to have a label indicating their emission levels and volatile pollutants clearly and legibly. A product's emission levels are indicated using a classification system ranging from class A+ (very low emissions) to C (high emissions), based on the principle already in use for appliances or vehicles. This system provides consumers with transparent information which may constitute an additional selection criterion. On behalf of the profession, the CTMNC (Technical Center for Natural Construction Materials), has initiated an analysis of organic pollutant emissions for natural stone in order to demonstrate its safety. No Volatile Organic Compounds (COV) were detected; nor were any other chemical substances.
Natural stone = class A+ clean material
Numerous environmental and sanitary declaration records (FDES) in respect of Burgundy natural stone are already available on the website www.inies.fr/home/. ROCAMAT helped to draft them, and they provide an opportunity to learn more about the environmental characteristics of our products.

The figure below highlights the values of the 10 main environmental impact criteria as they relate to a Comblanchien Rocherons stone paving (each tile 50 x 50 cm; 2 cm thick). This study demonstrates the very low impact of paving on the environment throughout its lifetime. By extrapolation, we can conclude that other stone products will perform in the same highly effective manner.
Stone is a durable and inert material that can be reused and recycled indefinitely. It is inexpensive to maintain and develops a natural sheen over time. Simply by restoring its façade, its new look can be preserved for decades. Lastly, given the significant value of its heritage, stonework will always maintain its value much more than other materials.
Stone: a lasting material for the future

 

here

• Eco construction
La pierre naturelle est un éco-matériau
C’est un matériau durable, recyclable, sain, sa production et sa mise en œuvre demandent une faible dépense énergétique.
La pierre naturelle s’inscrit idéalement dans une démarche de développement durable et dans les projets de construction HQE (Haute Qualité Environnementale). Sa composition est 100% naturelle et minérale. Les calcaires de ROCAMAT sont du carbonate de calcium quasiment pur.
La pierre est un matériau naturel qui offre une ressource variée et abondante. Elle est le premier constituant de la croûte terrestre, ce qui la classe comme une ressource inépuisable.
Pour toutes nos carrières, nous mettons en œuvre un plan de réaménagement du site en cours et en fin d’exploitation. La réalisation de ces engagements est cautionnée par un système de garantie financière contrôlé par la DREAL (Direction Régionale de l’Environnement, de l’Aménagement et du Logement).
Nous sommes 100% français
Les matériaux de carrière impropres à une utilisation en pierre dimensionnelle sont utilisés en granulats ou en amendements.
C’est le matériau minéral qui demande la plus faible dépense énergétique pour sa production, aucune cuisson n’est nécessaire. La pierre employée pour réaliser des constructions massives est donc une alternative, faible énergie et pauvre en émission de CO2, par rapport au gros œuvre en béton.
Par nos implantations, nous permettons le maintien de l’emploi en zones rurales. Cette proximité régionale permet aussi de limiter les transports lieu de production/chantier, et donne aux matériaux produits en France un avantage environnemental certain par rapport aux matériaux de grandes importations.
La pierre ROCAMAT un produit proche de vous
  
Les graphiques ci-dessus permettent d’apprécier l’impact réduit en termes de dépense énergétique et de rejet de CO2 d’un matériau local par rapport à un matériau d’importation. Les graphiques, réalisés avec l’outil de simulation du CTMNC (Centre Technique des Matériaux Naturels de Construction), comparent le transport d’une tonne de pierre naturelle entre Paris et la Bourgogne, Paris et le Portugal, Paris et la Chine.
Comme tous les matériaux de construction d’origine minérale, la pierre n’est pas un matériau isolant. Par contre, associée à une isolation performante, elle est totalement compatible avec les critères de la RT2012 (Règlement Thermique). De plus, grâce à sa grande inertie thermique elle contribue fortement au confort d’été des bâtiments.
La pierre naturelle ne relâche aucun composant chimique nocif dans l’atmosphère, ni lors de sa production, ni à l’usage. Depuis le 1er janvier 2012, les produits de construction et de décoration doivent être munis d’une étiquette qui indique, de manière simple et lisible, leur niveau d’émission en polluants volatils. Le niveau d’émission du produit est indiqué par une classe allant de A+ (très faibles émissions) à C (fortes émissions), selon le principe déjà utilisé pour l’électroménager ou les véhicules. Les consommateurs disposent ainsi d’une information transparente qui peut constituer un nouveau critère de sélection. Au nom de la profession, le CTMNC (Centre Technique de Matériaux Naturels de Construction) a lancé une analyse d’émissions organiques polluantes sur la pierre naturelle pour montrer son innocuité. Aucun Composé Organique Volatil (COV), ni autres substances chimiques n’ont pu être détectés.
La pierre naturelle = matériau sain classé A+
Plusieurs Fiches de Déclaration Environnementale et Sanitaire (FDES), concernant la pierre naturelle de Bourgogne, sont déjà disponibles sur la base www.inies.fr. ROCAMAT a participé à leur élaboration, elles vous permettront d’apprécier les caractéristiques environnementales de nos produits.

Ci-dessous, vous trouverez les valeurs pour les 10 principaux critères d’impacts environnementaux correspondant à un dallage en pierre de Comblanchien Rocherons (dalles de 50x50 épaisseur 2 cm). Cette étude vous permettra d’apprécier le très faible impact sur l’environnement d’un dallage en pierre naturelle, au cours de sa vie. Par extrapolation, on peut en déduire que le comportement d’autres produits en pierre, sera lui aussi très performant.
La pierre est un matériau pérenne et inerte, réutilisable indéfiniment et recyclable. Son entretien est peu couteux et se patine naturellement au fil du temps. En façade, un simple ravalement lui rend sa jeunesse pour des dizaines d’années. Enfin, l'aspect patrimonial n'est pas négligeable, une construction en pierre gardera toujours sa valeur bien plus que dans un autre matériau.
La pierre à jamais un matériau d'avenir